Two academics from the FoSE elected as Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society

31 October 2022

Professor Alan Zhang, Director of the Nottingham Electrification Centre at the University of Nottingham Ningbo China (UNNC), and Dr Jian Yang, Director of the International Academy in Marine Economy and Technology (IAMET), were recently elected as Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society (FRAeS). Together with the award to Professor Giampaolo Buticchi, the Associate Dean for Research & Knowledge Exchange, there are in total three academic staffs from the Faculty awarded with the fellowship.

The Royal Aeronautical Society is a British multi-disciplinary professional institution and the world’s oldest aeronautical society. The Society’s published academic research has long been regarded as the top standard for aeronautical research in the international academic community. Fellows are generally selected due to outstanding contributions or long-term achievements in the aerospace industry. The society is mainly engaged in aviation research development, developing international exchanges in the global aerospace community, promoting interdisciplinary cooperation between aerospace and other disciplines, and promoting the innovative development of aerospace technology.

Professor Zhang joined UNNC in 2014 after obtaining his Ph.D. degree and working for five years at the University of Nottingham UK. He has since been contributing to technological developments in motor drive systems research, specifically in high-power rating DC Starter/Generator systems for aero plane engines with improved efficiency and reduced weight. He has also led the research development into core technologies of domestic aircraft completed in cooperation with the Commercial Aircraft Corporation of China and the Aviation Industry Corporation of China.

Professor Zhang has to date completed more than 30 intergovernmental research projects with the Ministry of Science and Technology, the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the EU “CleanSky” programme as well as other provincial and municipal projects. Professor Zhang has published more than 120 SCI/EI papers, nearly half of which have been published in top international journals. He has also applied for 30 invention patents, including three international patents.

"I would like to thank the Royal Aeronautical Society for recognising the efforts of both myself and indeed the development of the Nottingham Electrification Centre.” He said, “ I hope that we can not only make world-leading efficient motor drive systems, but also integrate research results into the industry, and make contributions to humanity and society through our technological innovations.”

Dr Jian Yang studied joined UNNC in 2014. He obtained his Ph.D. degree from the University of Southampton UK, in the area of nonlinear structural vibrations and suppressions. Then, he worked as a research fellow under the supervision of Professor Jonathan Cooper, FREng and previous President of the Royal Aeronautical Society, in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, University of Bristol. His previous work there was primarily concerned with aeroelasticity and morphing aircraft wing structures, funded by European Union CleanSky and Framework VII projects.

Dr Yang has to date published 60 peer-reviewed academic papers, including about 40 SCI papers. In the recent 5 years, he has conducted 7 projects as a Principal Investigator, including NSFC projects (Young Scientist & General), Zhejiang NSF project, Open Fund from National Key Laboratory, and Ningbo NSF projects.

Dr Yang said: “I am humbled to receive this recognition from the Royal Aeronuatical Society and I am deeply grateful to Professor Jonathan Cooper for introducing me to the research field of aeroelasticity and morphing wings. I will continue working on novel design concepts and analysis of aircraft structures. No doubt, aerospace is fun and fascinating and I am privileged to help train the next generation of aerospace engineer with global citizenship for humanity through our BEng Aerospace Engineering programme at the University of Nottingham Ningbo China. ”