University of Nottingham Ningbo China
Latest News
  • Intranet

Vice-Provost recognised for contribution to Ningbo city

May Camellia award 1

Professor May Tan-Mullins, Vice-Provost of the University of Nottingham Ningbo China (UNNC) was recently recognised by the Ningbo Municipal Government for her contribution to the city’s development. She was awarded the Camellia Award along with seven international experts.

The Camellia Award is the highest honour the Ningbo city can bestow upon a foreign national, recognising their contribution to the social and economic development of the city, whether in business and technology or culture and education.

Professor May Tan-Mullins said: “It is my great honour to receive this prestigious award from the Ningbo government, recognising both UNNC’s and my contributions to Ningbo as a city, and China as a whole.

“I arrived in Ningbo from Singapore in September 2009 and this is my ninth year here. I have seen Ningbo grow in leaps and bounds during this time, from a modest, developing town into the tier one city it is today, which is an amazing feat. UNNC has also grown alongside Ningbo during this time, from an unknown, pioneering Sino-foreign University to today’s second-ranked university in the Zhejiang province in terms of Gaokao recruitment scores. Through the efforts of UNNC, the Ningbo government, and its citizenry, together we have put Ningbo on the world map, with it becoming more internationalised, and more recognised as a global brand across the world.”

She added: “It is a great honour to receive this Camellia Award, and I would like to share it with the UNNC staff and students, and with Ningbo as a whole for its internationalisation efforts.  With continuing efforts from all of us, Ningbo could one day be as famous as our competing neighbour Shanghai, if not more globally well-known in the areas that truly matter.  ”

Professor May Tan-Mullins is the Vice-Provost for Teaching and Learning at UNNC. She is also a Professor in International Relations, the Director of Institute of Asia and Pacific Studies and the series editor of Palgrave Series in Asia and Pacific Studies.


Posted on 9 October 2018