University of Nottingham Ningbo China
Graduate School
  • Intranet
      
 

Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) scholarships at UNNC and ZUFE

Reference:

19103DTPZJ

 

Length of Scholarship: 

up to 36 months, subject to satisfactory progression

 

Places:

10

 

Closing Date:

16:00, 14 June 2019 (China Time)

 

 

*Important Notes:

We welcome top quality applications all year round. You are encouraged to apply for March, June or December but preferably September intake for induction purposes. To ensure you will be able to register on your intended date, please submit your application at least 2 months in advance. Students applying for the Faculty of Business, please click here.

The scholarships are competitive and we advise you to apply as early as possible. It normally takes 5-6 weeks after the closing date for us to process your application.

 

The available PhD scholarships cover:

  • Tuition fee
  • Monthly stipend (RMB4,500)
  • Medical insurance with designate providers
  • All above items are covered for up to 36 months based on satisfactory progression
  • All regulations set out in the UNNC PGR Scholarship Policy apply

In addition to the above scholarship, successful candidates also have the opportunity to carry out paid teaching or research assistant duties at UNNC.

Available PhD research areas:

The above scholarships are to support research projects outlined under the following themes:

1. Digital Economy

  • Electronic and mobile commerce
  • Digital economy and industrial upgrade
  • Emerging digital business models, including new retail, entertainment and healthcare sectors
  • Data science and intelligent decision-making
  • Statistical theory, algorithm, and application based on big data and complex data
  • Marketing and consumer behaviour in the Internet environment
  • Digital economy and audit value
  • Assessment and risk management of urban digital economy development
Potential Supervisors, UNNC
 Name Email
Alain Chong Alain.chong@nottingham.edu.cn
Chris Roadknight Chris.Roadknight@nottingham.edu.cn
Dave Towey Dave.Towey@nottingham.edu.cn
Haibo Zhou Haibo.Zhou@nottingham.edu.cn
Marina Glushenkova marina.glushenkova@nottingham.edu.cn
Martin Liu Martin.Liu@Nottingham.edu.cn
Martin Lockett martin.lockett@nottingham.edu.cn
Prapa Rattadilok prapa.rattadilok@nottingham.edu.cn
Qingfeng Wang qingfeng.wang@nottingham.edu.cn
Xiaoge Xu xiaoge.xu@nottingham.edu.cn
Xu SUN xu.sun@nottingham.edu.cn
Yuqian Zhang Yuqian.zhang@nottingham.edu.cn
Zhao Cai Zhao.Cai@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Potential Supervisors from ZUFE

2. Innovation and Entrepreneurship

  • Innovation and entrepreneurship management
  • Private equity and entrepreneurial finance
  • Influence of government policy on innovation and entrepreneurship
Potential Supervisors, UNNC
NameEmail
Cong Cao Cong.Cao@nottingham.edu.cn
Haibo Zhou Haibo.Zhou@nottingham.edu.cn
Jin Chen jin.chen@nottingham.edu.cn
Martin Liu Martin.Liu@Nottingham.edu.cn
Martin Lockett martin.lockett@nottingham.edu.cn
Peter Hoffman Peter.Hofman@nottingham.edu.cn
Xi Chen Xi.Chen2@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Potential Supervisors from ZUFE

3. Financial management and Fintech

  • Artificial intelligence and quantitative investment
  • Business intelligence and Internet finance
  • Transformation of economic institutions in the emerging markets and corporate financial behaviour
  • Economic transformation and optimization of accounting system
Potential Supervisors, UNNC
NameEmail
Alvin Cheng Man-Hung-Alvin.Cheng@nottingham.edu.cn
Xiaogang Bi x.bi@nottingham.edu.cn
Yifei Cao yifei.cao@nottingham.edu.cn
Yingfa Lu yingfa.lu@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Potential Supervisors from ZUFE

4. Organisation and Operations Management

  • Organisation behaviour
  • Strategy and operations management
  • Corporate social responsibility
  • Intelligent supply chain and complex system management
Potential Supervisors, UNNC
NameEmail
Ada Ma ada.ma@nottingham.edu.cn
Casey Watters Casey.Watters@nottingham.edu.cn
Jie Wang Jie.Wang@nottingham.edu.cn
Jing Dai jing.dai@nottingham.edu.cn
Lucas Wang Lucas.Wang@nottingham.edu.cn
Peter Hoffman Peter.Hofman@nottingham.edu.cn
Xi Chen Xi.Chen2@nottingham.edu.cn
Zhen Tan zhen.tan@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Potential Supervisors from ZUFE

5. Public Management and Smart City

  • Human resource management in public sector
  • Urban emergency management based on big data
  • City economy and governance
  • Environmental protection and green technology
Potential Supervisors, UNNC
NameEmail
Ali Cheshmehzangi ali.cheshmehzangi@nottingham.edu.cn
Jing Bie Jing.Bie@nottingham.edu.cn
Zhen Tan zhen.tan@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Potential Supervisors from ZUFE

6. Foreign Language and Literature Studies

  • Cross-culture Translation Research
  • Women’s Literature Translation Research
  • Comparative Studies of Chinese and English Languages
  • Corpus Linguistics Research
Potential Supervisors, UNNC
NameEmail
Derek Irwin Derek.irwin@nottingham.edu.cn
Geoff Hall geoff.hall@nottingham.edu.cn
Lily Yu Lily.Yu@nottingham.edu.cn

 

Potential Supervisors from ZUFE

PhD programme structure

PhD programmes at the UNNC are composed of 3 years research and submission is expected within 3 years for full-time students. PhD supervision is undertaken jointly by academics from the University of Nottingham Ningbo China (UNNC), Zhejiang University of Finance and Economics (ZUFE) and the University of Nottingham UK (UNUK). On successful completion, students will be awarded the University of Nottingham PhD degree, and no reference will be made on the degree certificate as to where the degree has been completed. The University of Nottingham PhD degree will be accredited by the Chinese Ministry of Education. 

Eligibility

  • Applicants must have a first class honours undergraduate degree or 65% and above for a Masters’ degree from a British university, or the equivalent from other institutions
  • Applicants must meet the required English language proficiency
English Language Proficiency
 Qualification DTP Scholarship Programmes
 IELTS 6.5(≥6.0 in all elements)
 PTE Academic 62(min 55)
 TOEFL (IBT) 87 (minimum 20 in Speaking and 19 in all other elements)

How to apply

Please email scanned copies of the following documents to PHDadmissions@nottingham.edu.cn by 16:00 (China time) on the application deadline. All documents must be in English except the copy of Chinese national ID. If original documents are not in English, a translated English version is required in addition to the original one. An application missing any of the following documents is incomplete and will not be considered.

Click for document list

  • A completed application form (all fields filled)
  • A research proposal
  • A brief CV
  • Copies of degree certificates for undergraduate and postgraduate studies (Xueli certificates are required too for applicants from Chinese universities)
  • Official transcripts with marks for all individual modules/courses from undergraduate and postgraduate studies (with official university stamp)
  • English language test score (not required for native English speakers)
  • Two references (must be emailed directly by the referees)
  • A copy of ID or passport (both sides of an ID card required)
  • An electronic copy of passport-sized photo taken within three months of  this application
Please quote the scholarship reference number in your application form if you are applying for this scholarship.