University of Nottingham Ningbo China
Graduate School
  • Intranet
      
 

Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) scholarships at UNNC and IUE (2019 Entry)

Reference:

19053DTPXM

 

Length of Scholarship: 

up to 36 months, subject to satisfactory progression

 

Places:

1

 

Closing Date:

16:00, 13 Oct 2019 (China Time)

 

 

*Important Notes:

We welcome top quality applications for September intake. The scholarships are competitive and we advise you to apply as early as possible. It normally takes 5-6 weeks after the closing date for us to process your application.

 

The available PhD scholarships cover:

  • Tuition fee
  • Monthly stipend
  • Medical insurance with designate providers
  • All above items are covered for up to 36 months based on satisfactory progression
  • All regulations set out in the UNNC PGR Scholarship Policy apply

In addition to the above scholarship, successful candidates also have the opportunity to carry out paid teaching or research assistant duties at UNNC.

Available PhD research areas:

The UNNC-IUE scholarships are to support the following research projects outlined under the following themes:

1. Urban Ecology and Health

Potential Supervisors, UNNC
 Name Email
Ali Cheshmehzangi ali.cheshmehzangi@nottingham.edu.cn
Craig Hancock craig.hancock@nottingham.edu.cn
Jun He jun.he@nottingham.edu.cn
Lawrence Lau Lawrence.lau@nottingham.edu.cn
Meili Feng meili.feng@nottingham.edu.cn
Nicholas Hamm nicholas.hamm@nottingham.edu.cn
Oliver Laasch oliver.laasch@nottingham.edu.cn
Prapa Rattadilok prapa.rattadilok@nottingham.edu.cn
Tengwen Long tengwen.long@nottingham.edu.cn
Xinyu Zhang xinyu.zhang@nottingham.edu.cn
Yu-Ting Tang Yu-Ting.Tang@nottingham.edu.cn
Chee-Ruey HSIEH Hsieh.Chee-Ruey@nottingham.edu.cn

 Potential Supervisors, IUE

2. Urban Pollution Control and Restoration

Potential Supervisors, UNNC
 Name Email
Craig Hancock craig.hancock@nottingham.edu.cn
Elena Konysheva elena.konysheva@nottingham.edu.cn
Jun He jun.he@nottingham.edu.cn
Mengxia Xu mengxia.xu@nottingham.edu.cn
Nicholas Hamm nicholas.hamm@nottingham.edu.cn
Oliver Laasch oliver.laasch@nottingham.edu.cn
Pushpendu Kar Pushpendu.kar@nottingham.edu.cn
Qingfeng Wang qingfeng.wang@nottingham.edu.cn
Xinyu Zhang xinyu.zhang@nottingham.edu.cn
Yong Ren yong.ren@nottingham.edu.cn
Yu-Ting Tang Yu-Ting.Tang@nottingham.edu.cn
Devinder Yadav Devinder.Yadav@nottingham.edu.cn

 Potential Supervisors, IUE

3. Urban Environmental Engineering and Circular Economy

Potential Supervisors, UNNC
 Name Email
Craig Hancock craig.hancock@nottingham.edu.cn
Elena Konysheva elena.konysheva@nottingham.edu.cn
Gavin Lai gavin.Lai@nottingham.edu.cn
Jumoke Oladejo Jumoke.oladejo@nottingham.edu.cn
Oliver Laasch oliver.laasch@nottingham.edu.cn
Saeid Pourroostaei Ardakani saeid.ardakani@nottingham.edu.cn

 Potential Supervisors, IUE

4. Urban Environmental Planning and Management

Potential Supervisors, UNNC
 Name Email
Ali Cheshmehzangi ali.cheshmehzangi@nottingham.edu.cn
Chris Roadknight Chris.Roadknight@nottingham.edu.cn
Craig Hancock craig.hancock@nottingham.edu.cn
Faith Chan faith.chan@nottingham.edu.cn
Fangfang Zhu Fangfang.zhu@nottingham.edu.cn
Oliver Laasch oliver.laasch@nottingham.edu.cn
Pushpendu Kar Pushpendu.kar@nottingham.edu.cn
Yong Shi Yong.Shi@nottingham.edu.cn
Zhen Tan zhen.tan@nottingham.edu.cn
Devinder Yadav Devinder.Yadav@nottingham.edu.cn

 Potential Supervisors, IUE

PhD programme structure

Students enrolled on the UNNC-IUE DTP are expected to complete three years of full-time research and to submit their thesis for examination by the end of the third year. PhD supervision is undertaken jointly by academics from the University of Nottingham Ningbo China (UNNC), Institute of Urban Environment, CAS (IUE) and the University of Nottingham UK (UNUK). On successful completion of the PhD, the students will be awarded a PhD degree from the University of Nottingham. No reference will be made on the degree certificate as to where the degree has been completed. The University of Nottingham PhD degree is accredited by the Chinese Ministry of Education and the UK Quality Assurance Agency.

Eligibility

  • Applicants must have a first class honours undergraduate degree or 65% and above for a Masters’ degree from a British university, or the equivalent from other institutions
  • Applicants must meet the required English language proficiency (not required for native English speakers)
    • English language proficiency
       Qualification DTP Scholarship Programmes
       IELTS  6.5(≥6.0 in all elements)
       PTE Academic  62(min 55)
       TOEFL (IBT)  87 (minimum 20 in Speaking and 19 in all other elements)
  • More details can be found on the ‘entry requirements’ page of the website  

How to apply

Please email scanned copies of the following documents to PHDadmissions@nottingham.edu.cn by 16:00 (China time) on 13 Oct 2019. All documents must be in English except the copy of Chinese national ID. If original documents are not in English, a translated English version is required in addition to the original one. An application missing any of the following documents is incomplete and will not be considered.

Click for document list

  • A completed application form (all fields filled)
  • Copies of degree certificates for undergraduate and postgraduate studies with English translation (Xueli certificates are required too for applicants from Chinese universities). Applicants who obtained degrees from a Chinese university can provide the “online Verification Report of Higher Education Qualification Certificate” in English obtained from China Higher Education Student Information (CHSI中国高等教育学生信息网) as an alternative of the English translation. 
  • Official transcripts with marks for all individual modules/courses from undergraduate and postgraduate studies (with official university stamp)
  • Two references must be emailed to PHDAdmissions@nottingham.edu.cn directly by the referees and it’s the applicant’s responsibility to notify referees in advance. 
  • English Language test score report (IELTS/PTE academic etc.) if applicable (not required for native English speakers).
  • A research proposal.
  • A brief CV.
  • A copy of passport (international applicants) or ID card (Chinese nationals, both sides of Chinese ID cards required).
  • An electronic copy of passport-sized photo taken within three months of this application.
  • Any supporting documents to demonstrate the research potential, if applicable, e.g. published papers, conference papers, patents, etc.
All documents must be in English except the copy of Chinese national ID. If original documents are not in English, a translated English version is required in addition to the original one. An application missing any of these document (except for English language score) is incomplete and will not be considered.

Please quote the scholarship reference number in your application form if you are applying for any UNNC scholarship.

Please quote the scholarship reference number in your application form if you are applying for this scholarship.