outbound
University of Nottingham Ningbo China offers a number of opportunities for students to spend time studying at one of our partner institutions overseas. Students can spend one semester or, in some cases, up to one year studying at another university overseas.

 

Exchange Out

These places are offered at no additional tuition fee cost to students. Students will continue to pay their usual tuition fee to UNNC. Exchange places are normally limited to only one semester at participating universities. Exchange students take modules for credit at the partner institution that count towards their degree at UNNC.

Study Abroad

Students will be required to pay a study abroad fee to the host university instead of the usual UNNC tuition fee. Study Abroad students take modules for credit that count towards their degree at UNNC. In some cases, where permitted, a semester of Study Abroad can be combined with an Exchange semester (or another Study Abroad semester) for a total of up to one year.

Entry Requirements

UNNC mobility programme applications are only open to 4+0 degree programme students during their qualifying year (Year 2) at UNNC.

Candidates should comply with all rules, regulations and laws without any record of disciplinary offence during their study at UNNC for the first two years. Any disciplinary offence records may lead to the cancellation of the exchange or study abroad place.

Each school will set basic requirement for their students studying abroad. Basically, for inter-campus exchange/study abroad (UK and Malaysia campus), student must have at least 50%-55% average and some courses require higher. For international exchange/study abroad programmes, student must have at least 60% average. Some exchange partner universities will require higher.

Supporting Documents

Before your fill in your application form, please make sure:

You have read the exchange application information carefully.

You have researched on those partners you wish to apply and discussed with your school exchange coordinator and make sure you have compatible modules to choose at those partners to which you wish to apply.

Students who have compulsory language module requirements should contact your language tutor for advice.

You already know the implication of the mark transfer after you come back from overseas study.

All of the application instructions will be informed by the Global Engagement Office once you have accepted your nominated place.

School Exchange Coordinators and Language Tutors
Course Name Room Email
Business (For America ): Keying Zhu AB482 keying.zhu@nottingham.edu.cn
Business (For Oceania): Youngun Kim  AB143

Youngun.KIM@nottingham.edu.cn

Business (For Asia & Europe): Cass Lai  AB247 Cass.lai@nottingham.edu.cn
Business (UNUK, UNMC and UK Institutions) Belaynesh Teklay AB482 Belaynesh.Teklay@nottingham.edu.cn
Int’l Communications: Stephen Andriano-Moore AB212 Stephen.Andriano-Moore@nottingham.edu.cn
International Studies: Christian Müller AB320 Christian.Mueller@nottingham.edu.cn
English: Candace Veecock  AB414 Candace.veecock@nottingham.edu.cn
Ecomonics: Chee Kian.Leong SSB323 Chee.Leong@nottingham.edu.cn
  Marie-Claire Robitaille-Blanchet SSB321 Marie-Claire.Robitaille-Blanchet@nottingham.edu.cn
Engineering (Department)      
Civil Engineering  Ahmed Elamin SEB442 Ahmed.Elamin@nottingham.edu.cn
Mechanical, Materials & Manufacturing Engineering Jian Yang SEB442 Jian.Yang@nottingham.edu.cn
Electrical and Electronic Engineering  John Xu SEB443 Zhuang.XU@nottingham.edu.cn
Architecture & Building Environment Fernando Ortiz Moya   Fernando.OrtizMoya@nottingham.edu.cn
Geographical Sciences Faith Chan SEB319 faith.chan@nottingham.edu.cn
Chemical & Environmental Engineering Chengheng Pang (check with George Chen) SEB339 ChengHeng.Pang@nottingham.edu.cn
Computer Science Matthew Pike     Matthew.Pike@nottingham.edu.cn
Language advisor in the Language centre Magali Kerbellec  AB329 Magali.Kerbellec@nottingham.edu.cn
  Sergio Rodriguez Flores   Sergio.Rodriguezflores@nottingham.edu.cn
 

Timeline for Outbound Programmes

October
  • GEO have a partner list ready
  • School exchange coordinator creates a possible list for each school/department
  • GEO update partners' factsheets
November
  • Exchange/study abroad information will be available on website and Moodle
  • Students do research based on possible school list and decide their preference
  • Students contact exchange coordinator for any academic advice
  • Students contact language centre advisor for advice if they have compulsory language module requirements
December
  • GEO release quota information
  • Applications open online
January
  • Applications close at the end of January
  • Students are not allowed to submit or change their application after deadline
February
  • Nomination will be done before the end of February
  • Students set their study plan by filling in learning agreement and get it approved by school exchange coordinator
  • Students prepare application material to partners
  • Students start preparing for IELTS (if applicable) 
March
  • Students get learning agreement approved by exchange coordinator
  • Students submit exchange application material to partners together with learning agreement
May/June
  • Pre-departure briefing
  • Students start receiving offer and visa letter from partners
  • Students start applying for accommodation
  • Students start preparing for their visa application including funding.
July
  • Students start receiving progression notification. Students will be stopped from exchange if they cannot progress based on their first sit. (except EC students)
  • GEO advise re. visa application
  • Students book flight and insurance (only if/ when visa is secured)