University of Nottingham Ningbo China
Faculty of
Science and Engineering
  • Intranet
      

Dr Mengxia Xu

Assistant Professor in Environmental Engineering , Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering

Qualifications

PhD in Energy and Environmental Engineering, Zhejiang University
BAg in Agricultural Resources and Environment, South China Agricultural University

Contact

  • Room 444, Sir Peter Mansfield Building, UNNC                                            199 Taikang East Road, Ningbo 315100  
    China
  • +86 (0) 574 88180000 (ext 8421)
  • +86 (0) 574 8818 0175
  • mengxia.xu@nottingham.edu.cn
  • Download Full Profile
Mengxia Xu

Biography

Dr. Xu’s career path follows a series of “Zhou”, which means “State” in English. He was born in Mingzhou (the ancient name for Ningbo), gained his BAg in Guangzhou and received his PhD in Hangzhou. His dissertation initiated the systematic environmental impact study of dioxin emissions from the municipal solid waste incinerator in Mainland China. Upon graduation, he entered a government sponsored institute in Mingzhou. As the PI, he established a cost-effective technique for monitoring atmospheric persistent organic pollutants. Later, he took on a postdoc position at Louisiana State University for more than two years, where he extended his expertise from environmental chemistry to energy & fuels. He returned to his hometown in 2016 and joined the UNNC as the Assistant Professor in Environmental Engineering. So far, he has over 10 publications in international journals with a Google Scholar total citation of over 200. As the PI, he has attracted a cumulative RMB 1 million grant from multiple funding agencies, including the National Natural Science Foundation of China. I addition, he holds two invention patents and is the reviewer of a few prestigious international journals, such as Environmental Science & Technology, Journal of Hazardous Materials and Journal of Chromatography A.

 

Teaching

  • Separation Processes Fundamentals (H81SPF)
  • Separation Processes 1 (H82SP1)
  • Process Engineering Laboratories (H83PEL)
  • Advanced Transport Phenomena (H83TPH)

 

Research Interests

  • Environmental fate of toxic combustion by-products (CBPs), e.g., persistent organic pollutants (POPs), environmentally persistent free radicals (EPFRs)
  • Development of environmental catalysts/adsorbents for the simultaneous removal of multi-pollutants (Hg0, NOx, SOx, and CO2)
  • Reaction kinetics of pyrolysis of lignocellulosic biomass for liquid fuels

 

Major Research Grants

[1] The design and controllable synthesis of coal-fired flue gas Hg0 and SOx transfer catalyst and its mechanism study. National Natural Science Foundation of China, Reference: 51706114, 2018 – 2020, RMB 240 K. Co-I.

[2] Pyrolysis of Lignin for Bio-Oil Under CO2 Laser Irradiation in the "Wall-Less" Reactor. National Science Foundation, Reference: 1330311, 2013 – 2016, $ 353 K. Co-I.

[3] Study on the Novel Technique and its Application for Monitoring Atmospheric Persistent Organic Pollutants based on the PM Analyzer Filter of the Air Quality Monitoring Station and Gas-Particle Partitioning Model. National Natural Science Foundation of China, Reference: 21207072, 2013 – 2015, RMB 240 K. PI.

[4] Development of Novel Atmospheric PCDD/F Sampling Techniques and their Application in the Investigation of Atmospheric PCDD/Fs in the Typical Areas of Ningbo City. Ningbo Science & Technology Bureau of China, Reference: 2011C50019, 2011-2012, RMB 150 K. PI.

 

Selected Publications


[1]XU, M.X., KHACHATRYAN, L., KIBET, J., Lomnicki, S., 2017. Lumped kinetic modeling of isothermal degradation of lignin under conventional pyrolytic and oxidative conditions : Journal of Analytical and Applied Pyrolysis. 127, 377-384.

[2]XU, M.X., KHACHATRYAN, L., Baev, A., Asatryan, R., 2016. Radicals from the gas-phase pyrolysis of lignin model compounds : p-coumaryl alcohol : RSC Advances, 6, 62399-62405.

[3]XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., WANG, F., CEN, K.F., 2009. Concentrations, profiles and sources of atmospheric PCDD/Fs near a municipal solid waste incinerator in Eastern China: Environmental Science & Technology. 43, 1023-1029.

[4]XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., WANG, F., CEN, K.F., 2009. Agricultural soil monitoring of PCDD/Fs in the vicinity of a solid waste incinerator in Eastern China: Temporal variations and possible sources:Journal of Hazardous Materials. 166, 628-634.

[5] XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., WANG, F., CEN, K.F., 2009. Gas/particle partitioning of atmospheric PCDD/Fs in a satellite town in Eastern China: Chemosphere. 76, 1540-1549.

[6] XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., CEN, K.F., 2008. Application of the ISCST3 model for predicting PCDD/F concentrations in agricultural soil in the vicinity of a MSWI plant in China:Journal of Zhejiang University SCIENCE A. 9, 373-380.

Full list of publications: RESEARCHERID (G-4403-2010)

 

Patents

[1] XU, M.X., XU, N.B., FAN, Y.G., YANG, B.J., LI, S.J., ZHU, L.B., XU, G.J., YU, J., WANG, W.F., XU, D.D. A Monitoring Method for Atmospheric Particle-bound POPs based on a Continuous Ambient Particulate Monitor. China Patent No. ZL201310656971.7.

[2] XU, N.B., ZHU, L.B., LI, S.J., YANG, B.J., XU, M.X. A Simultaneous Pretreatment Method for Purification of Multiple Classes of POPs in the Environmental Media. China Patent No. ZL201310742398.1.

理工学院
  • Intranet
   

徐梦侠 博士

助理教授,博士生导师 , 化学工程与环境工程系

学历

浙江大学 能源与环境工程 博士
华南农业大学 农业资源与环境 学士

联系方式

Mengxia Xu

简介

徐博士的职业生涯由一系列的“州”组成。他出生于明州(宁波的古称),先后在广州和杭州获得学士和博士学位,其中博士论文率先对中国大陆垃圾焚烧炉二噁英排放的环境影响进行了系统的研究。博士毕业后他加盟了明州一家事业性研究机构,作为项目负责人,建立了一种成本低廉的大气中持久性有机污染物的监测方法。之后他赴美国路易斯安娜州立大学从事了两年多的博士后研究工作,在那里将研究专长从环境化学拓展至能源燃料领域。他于2016年回到家乡,开始在宁波诺丁汉大学担任环境工程专业助理教授。至今,他已经在国际期刊上发表论文10多篇,谷歌学术的总引用次数超过200。作为项目负责人,已经从多个资助机构累计申请到100多万科研经费,包括国家自然科学基金。此外,他还拥有两项发明专利,同时是一些知名国际期刊的审稿人,如Environmental Science & TechnologyJournal of Hazardous MaterialsJournal of Chromatography A

 

教学

  • 分离工艺基础(课程代码H81SPF)
  • 分离工艺(课程代码H82SP1)
  • 工艺工程实验(课程代码H83PEL)
  • 高等传输现象(课程代码H83TPH)

 

科研方向

  • 有毒焚烧副产物(如持久性有机污染物和环境持久性自由基)的环境行为
  • 多污染物(汞、氮氧化物、硫氧化物和二氧化碳)联合脱除环境催化剂/吸附剂的开发
  • 木质纤维素生物质制备液体燃料的热解动力学

 

主要科研项目

[1] 燃煤烟气汞硫转移催化剂设计、可控合成及机理研究,国家自然科学基金项目(编号51706114),2018 – 2020年,经费24万,参与

[2] “无墙”反应器二氧化碳激光辐照热解木质素制生物油,美国国家科学基金会项目(编号1330311), 2013 – 2016年,经费 234万,参与

[3] 基于空气质量自动监测站颗粒物分析仪滤膜和气固相分配模型的大气持久性有机污染物新型监测技术及其应用研究,国家自然科学基金项目(编号21207072),2013 – 2015年,经费24万,主持

 [4] 新型大气二恶英采样技术的开发及其在宁波市典型区域大气二恶英浓度调查中的应用,宁波市科技局项目(编号2011C50019),经费15万,主持

 

代表性科研论文

[1]XU, M.X., KHACHATRYAN, L., KIBET, J., Lomnicki, S., 2017. Lumped kinetic modeling of isothermal degradation of lignin under conventional pyrolytic and oxidative conditions : Journal of Analytical and Applied Pyrolysis. 127, 377-384.

[2]XU, M.X., KHACHATRYAN, L., Baev, A., Asatryan, R., 2016. Radicals from the gas-phase pyrolysis of lignin model compounds : p-coumaryl alcohol : RSC Advances, 6, 62399-62405.

[3]XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., WANG, F., CEN, K.F., 2009. Concentrations, profiles and sources of atmospheric PCDD/Fs near a municipal solid waste incinerator in Eastern China: Environmental Science & Technology. 43, 1023-1029.

[4]XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., WANG, F., CEN, K.F., 2009. Agricultural soil monitoring of PCDD/Fs in the vicinity of a solid waste incinerator in Eastern China: Temporal variations and possible sources:Journal of Hazardous Materials. 166, 628-634.

[5] XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., WANG, F., CEN, K.F., 2009. Gas/particle partitioning of atmospheric PCDD/Fs in a satellite town in Eastern China: Chemosphere. 76, 1540-1549.

[6] XU, M.X., YAN, J.H., LU, S.Y., LI, X.D., CHEN, T., NI, M.J., DAI, H.F., CEN, K.F., 2008. Application of the ISCST3 model for predicting PCDD/F concentrations in agricultural soil in the vicinity of a MSWI plant in China:Journal of Zhejiang University SCIENCE A. 9, 373-380.

完整论文清单:RESEARCHERID (G-4403-2010)

 

专利

[1] 徐梦侠,徐能斌,樊颖果,杨炳建,李申杰,朱丽波,徐国津,俞杰,汪伟峰,许丹丹, 一种基于颗粒物连续监测仪的大气颗粒物中持久性有机污染物监测方法,中国发明专利号:ZL201310656971.7

[2] 徐能斌,朱丽波,李申杰,杨炳建,徐梦侠,一种同时净化环境介质中多种持久性有机物的前处理方法,中国发明专利号: ZL201310742398.1