University of Nottingham Ningbo China
School of
International Communications
  • Intranet
      

CPD Courses

 

Branding and Identity Module

 Title of Session Outline Teaching methods
 

Constructing and branding personas

This session introduces concepts of public persona from a celebrity studies and persona studies perspective. It explores Richard Dyer’s notion that celebrity figures are texts whose identities are expressed through a multitude of media forms. It also examines P David Marshall’s notion that culture is now presentational, in which all individuals are performing a type of persona through multiple media platforms. This provides a foundation for participants to consider their own personas, and the arenas in which they are deployed. It also encourages participants to evaluate the effectiveness and appropriateness of their personas.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion
  • reflections
Reaching out: fans and consumers This session introduces concepts from John Fiske and Henry Jenkins relating to the activity of consumers and fans. In particular, the role of fans in the perpetuation and co-creation of brands is explored through case studies of celebrity personas and media franchises. Participants are encouraged to consider their relationship to their consumers and conceptualize them as fans.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion
  • reflections
Online influencers This session explores the work of Crystal Abidin, who examines the activity of micro-celebrity online influencers. It explores a number of case studies from Asia, South East Asia and Australia to uncover the contexts and methods to becoming a successful influencer. How can businesses use influencers to get in touch with their target audience more effectively?  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

 

Converged Media Marketing Strategy Module

Title of SessionOutlineTeaching methods
Classical vs Transmedia marketing campaign This session will focus on the differences between the classical way of developing a marketing campaign to promote a product through different media, including newspapers, television, radio, print, online platforms, and social media and the opportunities offered by media convergence to spread a company message across multiple delivery channels with each element making distinctive contribution to the development of the promotional story.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)

  • small group discussion

  • reflection

  • sharing

Understanding your audience This session focuses on the emergence of internet-based participatory culture by underlining important concepts such as "Creator" and "Participants" and it will focus on how many Web 2.0 ‘services’ rely on users to create content, while owners benefit from the surplus value.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)

  • small group discussion

  • reflection

  • sharing

Transmedia into practice This final session will help participants to put into practice what they learned during the first two sessions. The session will give participants an opportunity to draft their own transmedia campaign and visualize the different fields where they could apply their learning in the immediate future.  
  • Small group discussion

  • practice

 

Narrative and Narratology Module

Titel of SessionOutlineTeaching methods
The Storytelling Instinct Storytelling is powerful because it harnesses the natural causal pattern-seeking of the human mind. This session will explain why storytelling is so powerful in informing our most deeply felt beliefs, and ask how we might we use this power to influence others. Scholars of "narratology" have discussed the nature of storytelling, including the persuasive uses of fictional narrative, and their findings can help any communicator address their audience more effectively.  
  • Small group discussion

  • reflections

Social and Cognitive Narratology This session details the science behind communication. It introduces social and cognitive narratology - what do the social sciences, and in particular psychology, tell us about the human storytelling instinct? We will discuss the human "uses" of storytelling, and the ways in which researchers in fields such as social psychology and neuroscience have studied our engagement with and responses to narrative.  
  • Small group discussion

  • reflections

Storytelling in Practice The final session will talk through the way some of the concepts raised in sessions 1 and 2 can be put into practice. How can we tell stories with the power to move people, capture their imaginations, and perhaps even change their beliefs? This session will cover the applied ethics of storytelling, and its use across various media contexts.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)

  • small group discussion

  • reflection

 

HR and Employee Experience Module

Title of SessionOutlineTeaching methods
The future of HR This session will focus on the development of HR departments that should no longer be considered as organisational unit in charge of hiring, firing, payroll, and keeping up to date with tax laws, but as key department committed to employees learning and development, in support of the communities in which they operate, and their impact on society as a whole.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflection

  • sharing

Mentoring and Coaching This session focuses on the differences between mentoring and coaching and on how the implementation of these programs within an organisation are helping to break down generational divide, foster working relationships and collaborations, support career development, facilitate leadership development, implement a giving back culture, and develop employee’s psychological investment in their organization.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflection

  • sharing

 

Mentoring and Coaching into Practice This final session will help participant to put what they learned during the first two session into practice. The session will give participants the opportunity to participate in a mentoring and a coaching session to better understand the benefit of such activities and visualize how they could apply their learning in the immediate future.   Peer practice

 

Cross-Cultural Communication Module

 Title of session  Outline Teaching methods
Role of Culture in Effective Communication The ability to communicate through language is what makes humans unique. However, this form of linguistic communication is not transparent, but is heavily influenced or determined by one’s culture. This session introduces models of communication and explains the role that culture plays in effective communication and how it affects the way we perceive the world.   
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflections

Understanding Cultural Dimensions and Differences Having understood the interrelationship between culture and communication, this session introduces Hofstede’s cultural dimensions as a toolkit to better examine the cultural differences that exist (whether this is defined in terms of national or organisational culture), along with the real-world consequences of ignoring or misunderstanding them.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflections

How to develop Cultural Intelligence This session aims at developing cultural intelligence (CI) in you, to see how increased cultural intelligence can allow you to communicate more effectively as team members and leaders across different cultural contexts. This includes both verbal and non-verbal forms of communication.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • peer practice

 

Media Ethics Module

Title of sessionOutlineTeaching methods
Ethical foundations and the media This session introduces the study of ethics, and the ways in which concepts in moral psychology and philosophy can be used to illuminate contemporary problems: for instance, problems in public relations, the sharing economy, or simply how we represent one another's interests across the media. How can businesses use these theories to answer questions regarding their responsibilities, and likewise the responsibilities of their audiences?  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflections

Media ethics in practice How can discussions of media ethics be put into practice? This session demonstrates the ways in which the ethics covered in session one can be applied by media practitioners and professional journalists, editors, broadcasters, storytellers and communicators. We will consider the differences between institutional and individual responses to the particular moral challenges of the media industry.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflections

 

The Protection and Leveraging of your IP Module

 Title of session Outline  Teaching methods
The importance of protecting your IP This session will focus on the protection of the most important aspect of companies’ work, their ideas. It will explain the rationale for companies and individual creators to protect their IP with the use of real world examples, including those which highlight the problems that emanate from undue attention to this type of protection. It will also provide practical advice on the measures that companies can put in place to protect their IP, as well as what steps can be taken to combat the unapproved imitation of their original ideas.    
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflections

Protecting and leveraging your IP in international markets This session looks at the strategies which companies might adopt to protect their IP in international markets. This will involve introducing participants to the most up-to-date international laws and practices which regulate IP protection, primarily through an analysis of WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization) and WTO regulations. There will also be an analysis of law and practice on IP protection in key international markets, most notably the USA, UK and EU. The session will involve a role play in which participants’ will use the knowledge of international rules and regulations to think about how they might leverage IP for one of their products in a key international market  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

  • reflections

Case studies in the leveraging of IP for commercial gain. This final session will focus on specific case studies as a means of explaining how the content of the first two sessions relates to actual practice. The session will be mainly informative, but will give participants an opportunity to discuss with each other how these case studies might inform their own strategies for leveraging IP for commercial gain.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)
  • small group discussion

 

Managing Change Module

 Title of session  Outline Teaching methods
Introduction to Change Management Organizations often need to change to remain competitive. In this class, we will discuss the concept of organizational change: What it is, why it is important, and how it unfolds.   
  • Presentation (and case studies)

  • small group discussion

  • reflections

Resistance to Change Organizational change is rarely an easy task. In this class, we will discuss the concept of resistance to change. We will gain a better understanding of resistance to change and learn effective ways to deal with it. We will also critically reflect on the possible constructive facets of resistance to change.  
  • Presentation (and case studies)

  • small group discussion

  • reflections

Leadership and Change Leaders play an essential but challenging role in the management of organizational change. In this class, we will learn more about the roles of leaders in change management and we will learn strategies to become effective change leaders ourselves.   
  • Presentation (and case studies)

  • small group discussion

  • reflections

Managing Change in Multicultural Environments Multicultural environments often make organizational change more challenging. In this class, we will learn about cultural differences and reflect on the challenges that multicultural environments pose to the management of organizational change. We will also gain insights into how to overcome these challenges. 
  • Presentation (and case studies)

  • small group discussion

  • reflections

 

Team Building Module

Title of session OutlineTeaching methods
Theatre for Team-building This session encourages participants to work together to perform various challenging activities. It starts with non-verbal exercises which encourage colleagues to communicate via other modalities (observation, facial expression and gesture) before moving into language-based activities designed to explore common problems in workplace communication and potential solutions. The crucial feature is that all participants are engaged in a cooperative environment, and must work together to complete tasks successfully; along the way, they will also discover some tips for successful presentations and greater confidence in speaking.  
  • Problem-based learning

  • Cooperative production

  • Demonstration and performance

国际传播系
  • Intranet
   

CPD Courses

 

品牌和身份模块

课程名称简介教学方法

塑造和品牌化人设

本节将从名人研究和角色研究的角度介绍公共角色的概念。 它探讨了Richard Dyer的观念,即名人人物是通过多种媒体形式表达身份的文本。

它还考察了P David Marshall的观念,即现在的文化是展示性的,在这种文化中,所有个人都通过多种媒体平台表演一种角色。 这为参与者考虑自己的角色以及部署角色的场所提供了基础。 它还鼓励参与者评估其角色的有效性和适当性。

  • 演讲(和案例研究)
  • 小组讨论
  • 反思

接触于互动:粉丝和消费者

本节将介绍John Fiske和Henry Jenkins的有关消费者和粉丝活动的概念。尤其是,通过对名人人物角色和媒体特许经营权的案例研究,探讨了粉丝在品牌永续发展和共同创造中的作用。参与者被鼓励思考与消费者的关系并将其概念化为粉丝。

  • 演讲(和案例研究)
  • 小组讨论
  • 反思

网络影响

本次会议探讨了Crystal Abidin的成果,他检查了微名人网红影响者的活动。 它探讨了许多来自亚洲,东南亚和澳大利亚的案例,以揭示成为成功影响者的背景和方法。 企业应如何利用影响者更有效地与目标受众联系?


  • 演讲(和案例研究)
  • 小组讨论

 

融合媒体营销策略模块

课程名称简介教学方法
经典VS跨媒体营销活动 本次课程将重点探讨通过各种媒体(包括报纸,电视,广播,印刷,在线平台和社交媒体)进行营销活动以推广产品的经典方式与媒体融合为公司发展提供的机会之间的区别。 通过多个传播渠道传递信息,每个元素都为营销发展做出了独特的贡献。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)
  • 小组讨论
  • 反思
  • 分享
理解你的观众 本课程通过强调“创作者”和“参与者”等重要概念,着重于基于网络的参与文化的出现,并将关注有多少网络 2.0的“服务”依赖用户所创建的内容,而所有者则获得了剩余价值。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)
  • 小组讨论
  • 反思
  • 分享
跨媒体实践 最后的课程将帮助参与者将他们在前两个课程中学到的知识付诸实践。 此课程将使参与者有机会策划自己的跨媒体活动并可视化。这将帮助他们可以在不久的将来应用学习过的不同领域的知识。  
  • 小组讨论
  • 实践

 

叙事与叙事学模块

课程名称简介教学方法
讲故事的本能 讲故事很强大,因为它利用了人类思维的自然因果模式寻求。 本课程将解释为什么说故事能如此强大地告知我们最深切的信念,并询问我们如何利用这种力量来影响他人。 “叙事学”的学者讨论了讲故事的本质,包括对小说叙事的说服力使用,他们的发现可以帮助任何传播者更有效地与听众交流。  
  • 小组讨论
  • 反思
社会和认知叙事学 本节详细介绍了交流背后的科学。 它介绍了社会和认知叙事学-社会科学,特别是心理学告诉我们关于人类叙事本能的什么? 我们将讨论人类讲故事的“用途”,以及社会心理学和神经科学等领域的研究人员研究了我们对叙事的参与和回应。
  • 小组讨论
  • 反思

 

讲故事实践
最后的课程将讨论如何将第一和第二节中提出的一些概念付诸实践。 我们如何讲故事才能动人,捕捉他们的想象力,甚至改变他们的信仰? 本课程将涵盖讲故事的应用伦理学,以及其在各种媒体环境中的运用。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)
  • 小组讨论
  • 反思

 

人力资源与员工体验模块

课程名称简介教学方法
人力资源的未来 本课程将重点关注人力资源部门的发展,这些部门不应再被视为负责雇用,解雇,工资单和最新税法的组织单位,而是致力于员工学习和发展的主要部门,以支持他们运作的团队,以及它们对整个社会的影响。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

  • 分享
指导与辅导 本课程的重点是指导和辅导之间的差异,以及组织内部这些计划的实施如何帮助打破代沟,促进工作关系和协作,支持职业发展,促进领导力发展,实行回馈文化,以及在组织中加大对员工心理的投入。  
    • 演讲(和案例研究)

    • 小组讨论

    • 反思

    • 分享
指导和辅导实践 最后的课程将帮助参与者将在前两个课程中学到的知识付诸实践。 该课程将使参与者有机会参加指导和辅导课程,以更好地了解此类活动的好处,并视觉化他们将在不久的将来如何应用他们所学的知识。   同伴练习

 

跨文化交流模块

课程名称  简介教学方法

 

文化在有效沟通中角色

通过语言进行交流的能力使人类与众不同。 但是,这种语言交流形式不是透明的,而是受一个人的文化严重影响或决定的。 本节介绍交流的模型,并解释文化在有效的交流中所扮演的角色,以及它如何影响我们对世界的认识。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

理解文化纬度和差异

在了解了文化与传播之间的相互关系之后,本课程介绍了霍夫斯泰德的文化维度,作为一种工具包,可以更好地检验存在的文化差异(无论是根据民族文化还是组织文化来定义),以及在现实世界忽略或消除它的结果。

 
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

如何发展文化智慧 本课程旨在培养您的文化智慧(CI),以了解增强的文化智能如何使您能够在不同文化背景下以团队成员和领导者的身份更有效地进行交流。 这包括语言和非语言形式的交流。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 同伴实践

 

媒体道德模块

课程名称简介教学方法
道德基础和媒体 本课程介绍了道德的研究以及道德心理学和哲学中的概念,用来阐明当代问题的方式:例如,公共关系问题,共享经济问题,或者仅仅是我们如何通过媒体代表彼此的利益 。 同时,企业应如何使用这些理论来回答有关其责任以及听众责任的问题。
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

媒体道德实践 如何进行媒体道德的讨论? 本课程展示了媒体从业人员和专业记者,编辑,广播员,讲故事的人和传播者可以运用第一节所讨论的道德方式。 我们将考虑机构和个人对媒体行业中道德挑战的反应之间的差异。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

 

IP保护和利用模块

 课程名称简介  教学方法
保护IP的重要性 本课程的重点是保护公司工作中最重要的方面,即他们的想法。 它将通过使用真实的例子来说明公司和个人创建者保护其IP的理由,包括那些突出了由于对此类保护的过度关注而产生的问题的例子。 它还将为公司可以采取的保护其知识产权的措施以及采取哪些措施来打击未经批准的模仿其原始想法的问题提供实用建议。  
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

在国际市场上保护和利用你的IP 本课程探讨公司在国际市场上可能采取的保护其知识产权的策略。 这将涉及主要通过对WIPO(世界知识产权组织)和WTO法规的分析,向参与者介绍规范知识产权保护的最新国际法律和惯例。 还将对主要国际市场上最著名的美国,英国和欧盟的知识产权保护法律和实践进行分析。 此次会议将涉及角色扮演,参与者将利用国际规则和法规的知识来思考如何在关键的国际市场上利用为其产品利用知识产权
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

利用知识产权获取商业利益的案例研究 最后一个课程将重点讨论特定的案例研究,以解释前两课的内容与实践之间的关系。 本课程将主要提供信息,但将使参与人员有机会相互讨论这些案例如何为他们自己制定知识产权战略来谋取商业利益战略提供参考。
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

 

变革管理模块

课程名称 简介 教学建议

变化管理导论

组织通常需要进行更改以保持竞争力。 在这一节课中,我们将讨论组织变革的概念:它是什么,为什么重要,以及它如何发展。
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

抵抗变化

组织的变化很少是一件容易的事。 在这一节课中,我们将讨论抵抗变化的概念。 我们将更好地理解对变化的抵制,并学习应对变化的有效方法。 我们还将批判性地思考抵抗变化的可能建设性方面。
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

  • 反思

领导力与变化 领导者在组织的的变化管理中扮演着至关重要但具有挑战性的角色。 在本课程中,我们将更多地了解领导者在变化管理中的角色,还将学习一些策略以使自己成为有效的变化领导者。 
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

应对多元文化环境中的变化 多元文化环境通常使组织的变化更具挑战性。 在本课程中,我们将学习文化差异,并思考多元文化环境对组织的变化管理的挑战。 我们还将获得有关如何克服这些挑战的见识。
  • 演讲(和案例研究)

  • 小组讨论

 

团队建设模块

课程名称
 简介教学方法
团队建设 本课程鼓励参与者共同开展各种具有挑战性的活动。 它从非语言练习开始,鼓励同事通过其他方式(观察,面部表情和手势)进行交流,然后再进行基于语言的活动,这些活动旨在探讨工作场所交流中的常见问题和潜在的解决方案。 关键特征是所有参与者都处于合作环境中,必须共同努力才能成功完成任务; 在此过程中,他们还将掌握一些成功演讲的技巧,并增强了演讲的信心。  
  • 基于问题的学习

  • 合作制作

  • 示范与表演