What is the Mental Health Advisory (MHA) Service?

The Mental Health Advisory Service as a part of Department of Campus Life (DCL) specifically provides professional services for students who have significant mental health problems. This includes crisis intervention, individual mental health support, group mental health support, referral to psychiatrists. Further, the MHA Service initiates or coordinates mental health activities, such as mental health screening, the Peer Listener Project, Mr.Listener Programme and professional training for the Student Support Advisor team.

What does 'significant mental health problem' mean?

Students using the MHA service are likely to be experiencing mental health difficulties to a degree that they are in need of psychiatric assessment. Their symptoms are likely to have been present for some time with the exception of first/early onset of psychosis and acute stress reactions. The impact of their difficulties is likely to be apparent in their personal, social and academic lives and there will be an element of risk associated with their presentation.

Risk in the student population may include risk to self (e.g. suicidal ideation, suicidal intent, self-harm, self-injury), and risk to others (e.g. thoughts/actions of hurting others).

Whom does the MHA Service support?

All students with significant mental health difficulties registered for study with UNNC including resit not in attendance, interrupted students, and thesis pending. We do not provide support for students whose primary difficulty is a drug/alcohol problem or a developmental disorder such as Asperger’s or ADHD. Students do not need to have a formal mental health diagnosis to receive support from this service.

Does the MHA Service operate a duty system?

The MHA Service operates within normal working hours (Monday-Friday, 9:00-12:00 am, 1:30-5:00pm).

For Crisis Intervention, Please immediately in contact with a MHA via phone/in person.

Out of hours emergencies should be referred to university emergency line (0574-88180111). It will allocate resources according to the nature of the emergency.

How do I refer to the MHA Service?

Normally, a referral is accepted only when it comes from a Student Support Advisor (SSA), University Counselling Service (UCS), or a Faculty Senior Tutor (FST). After the MHA Service receives an MHA Referral Form via email, an initial appointment will be arranged with the student within 2 working days. The initial appointment will be sent to the student via the calendar, and the referrer and the counterpart Student Support Advisor will be informed at the same time.

What will happen at my first appointment?

The initial appointment lasts 1 hour. This process allows the MHA to assess risk and get an overview of the student’s situation. The MHA will talk with the student about the mental health support that will be provided, inform the referrer and suggest follow-up actions that the referrer (SSA/UCS/FST) and SSA can take to provide students with appropriate services.

Confidentiality

Following the initial appointment, the MHA will inform the referrer and the Student Support Advisor that the student is coming to see an MHA. Information will be disclosed only on a need-to-know basis. A need-to-know basis means limited confidentiality, in which the MHA will brief the Student Support Advisor and the referrer about the outcome of risk assessment and any relevant factors, and offer advice on any actions that the SSA needs to take. MHAs will inform students when they are sharing information except in the exceptional circumstances of immediate risk and/or where the University cannot manage the level of the risk. In these circumstances, MHAs will follow the Mental Health Law of the People’s Republic of China, article 16 that “Schools and teachers shall communicate with the students' parents or other guardians or close relatives about the students' mental health conditions.”

What about making a psychiatric apointment?

We encourage students to make the appointment themselves in advance if you can. Go to the Alipay, then click on “HealthCare – Reservation – Ningbo Kangning Hospital”, you can make a psychiatric appointment with a psychiatrist yourself. The Green Chanel only works under the circumstance that a student needs an appointment but the psychiatrist is fully booked. For those who need to see a psychiatrist but do not have the energy to make the appointment, an MHA will be able to help the student to obtain a psychiatric assessment as well based on the referral from a student support advisor, a university counsellor or a faculty senior tutor.

Moreover, an MHA can provide more detailed information if a student has questions about seeing a psychiatrist. For instance, which Outpatient Clinic (OPC) is more accurate for the student’s situation, depression, anxiety or sleep? Different psychiatrists specialized in different area. After meeting with the student, an MHA will be able to give a more accurate suggestion on which OPC to reserve.

Miscellaneous

什么是心理健康咨询服务?

作为学生事务与发展中心(DCL)业务的组成部分,心理健康咨询服务是一个仅接收内部转介、专门为有重大心理健康需求的学生提供的专业服务,包括心理危机干预、个人心理健康支持、团体心理健康支持、精神医生转诊等。 此外,MHA还负责统筹心理健康类活动,例如新生心理普查、朋辈倾听项目、Mr.Listener项目、以及辅导员团队的专业支持等。

什么是重大心理健康问题?

使用MHA服务的学生可能会遇到一定程度上的心理健康问题而需要进行精神病理学评估,他们的症状表现可能已存在一段时间,并且不是第一次/早期发作的精神错乱和急性应激反应。 这些症状的影响可能会在他们的个人、社会生活和学术生活中显现,并且他们的陈述中会包含一些风险因素。

学生群体中的风险可能包括对自我的风险(例如自杀想法、自杀意图、自我伤害、自残)和对他人的风险(例如伤害他人的想法、言行)。

谁能获得心理健康咨询服务?

所有有重大心理健康需求的学生,在宁波诺丁汉大学注册学习,包括补考但是不用出席上课,因事中断学习的学生和等待论文通过的学生。我们不为被药物/酒精问题或发育障碍(如阿斯伯格综合症或多动症)所困扰的学生提供支持。学生无需医院的心理健康诊断即可获得此服务的支持。

心理健康咨询服务的工作时间?

MHA的服务时间为正常的工作日(周一至周五,上午9:00-12:00,下午1:30-5:00)。

当涉及需要危机干预的情况下,请通过任何直接的手段(电话/当面)联系MHA以获得危机干预的快速支持。

非工作时间的紧急情况,可通过学校紧急热线(0574-88180111)求助,该热线会根据问题分类转介至相应部门进行受理。

我将如何被转介?

通常情况下,MHA只接收来自辅导员、学校心理咨询中心和学院高级导师的转介。MHA通过电子邮件收到转介表格之后,将在2个工作日内安排初次访谈。MHA会通过发送日历预约学生进行初次访谈,并同时告知推荐人和学生的辅导员。

初次访谈是怎样的?

初次访谈是一小时的会议,这将允许MHA对学生做出一个风险评估并对学生的情况有一个尽可能的详尽了解。MHA会和学生沟通将会提供的心理健康服务,告知转介人,并会给予关于需要如何做的跟进建议。

保密性

在初次访谈之后,MHA仅会在需要知情的基础上告知转介人和学生的辅导员该学生已在接受MHA的心理支持及援助。需要明确的是,需要知情的基础意味着保密的有限性,MHA将向学生辅导员和转介人告知有关风险评估的结果以及相关因素,并就其辅导员需要采取如何做来跟进学生提供相关建议。MHA也会告知学生,当处于有直接危险的特殊情况或学校无法做风险管理之时,MHA将不再遵循保密协议和相关人员分享所有相关的信息。此外,根据《中华人民共和国精神卫生法》中第16条也要求,“学校和教师应当与学生父母或者其他监护人、近亲属沟通学生心理健康情况。”

如何去专科医院就诊?

通常我们鼓励同学们自己提前预约门诊问诊号。你可以通过支付宝的“医疗健康 - 预约门诊 - 宁波康宁医院”进行自助预约。学校与宁波康宁医院的绿色通道只有在当日想预约的医生已经没有问诊号的情况下,可以使用并增加一个额外的问诊号。针对那些需要去见医生就诊但是自己无法执行的同学,我们在接到来自辅导员/学校心理咨询师/学院高级导师的转介之后,也会根据情况帮助进行就医预约。

另外,心理健康顾问可以提供更相信的关于门诊问诊的信息。比如挂哪一个门诊更合适?抑郁门诊?睡眠门诊?焦虑门诊?不同的医生在不同的领域有专长。在和心理健康顾问面谈之后,你的心理健康顾问会根据你提供的信息在预约门诊问诊号上给予更准确的建议。

 

其他